Black Thursday

Went to Wal-Mart Thanksgiving evening. This year, we don’t need much of anything, but we’re destined to buy a lot of crap anyway. There’s gifts for the grandkids and the odd household appliance.

Here’s the way Black Thursday works, if you really don’t need stuff. You go to the store, wait for the animals (yes, a Wal-Mart employee referred to the people fighting to get deep fryers as “animals”) to get through the stuff they want, then pick up what you need at the cut-rate price. Get to the registers and get the hell out of there.

However, here’s the way Black Thursday works if you’re an animal.

WalMart1

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You see, after I got my crap, I wanted to see what everyone else was doing. Human curiosity. I went by the on-sale televisions, and they had a 32″ Roku TV for $125. A police officer was standing by the TV’s with some Wal-Mart employees. Before the designated time, people started grabbing some of the TV’s. The police officer told the people to wait. They stopped, then started grabbing again. The police officer shouted for them to stop, but they didn’t. The police officer blew his whistle, but to no avail. The people just took all the televisions. I took photos. They started taking the 40″ and 32″ Samsung televisions as well. All the Roku TV’s were gone in less than two minutes.

I just picked up a Samsung 32″ after the crazies had mostly left. I’m going to mount it in my travel trailer. We were out of the store in 10 minutes.

The whole point is, there are very few items on Black Thursday or Black Friday that are worth the scrums and fights people get into. Every Black Weekend event I’ve been to, there have been fights over crap, but each one has had deeply slashed priced items left over well after the initial crush.

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Cheaters, Consumerism, Crime, Douchetastic and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment