My camera and DSLR’s

Some of you may be interested in the camera I’m using, even though the images are clearly degraded from the original photos. Its for uploading purposes only.

I’m using a Nikon D7000. I bought it as a replacement for my Nikon D90, which was stolen out of a San Antonio hotel last year by some teenage criminals.

I really loved that D90, and I was very impressed with its durability, technical capability and handling. The D7000 is a high end consumer device and while packed with many features the D90 does not have, is…in my opinion a less durable device.

The D7000 is capable of outstanding performance in the hands of someone who knows what they are doing. I am an amateur but I’ve been dealing with SLR’s and DSLR’s for a while now so I am aware how to make them work.

A couple of things I’d like to mention.

People think “megapixels” are the end-all and be-all of digital photography. That’s a huge lie. Megapixels are for those salespeople at Best Buy who don’t know what they are talking about. To be honest, the body doesn’t matter that much. The primary determining factor in your photo quality is YOU. Next to you, it’s the focal length of your lens and the quality of that device. That’s how come pictures from cellphones suck, no matter how many megapixels they have. I know, your cellphone is different. Right. Every cellphone without a telescoping lens sucks, and they are not for quality. They are for taking fake pictures of UFO’s and douchebags doing stupid stunts. Douchebags just want to be recorded. I use my dPhone (iPhones are made for elitist douchebags like myself) to take pictures as well.

I remember reading an Apple fanboy discussing the reason he didn’t like the dPhone: “because ‘the masses’ would have them.” What a scroat.

I want to post a DSLR picture next to a dPhone pic just so you can see the difference.

Many people consider the body of the device utterly important and for a professional, it is. For amateurs like myself, it is not overwhelmingly significant. The lens is important for everyone. I use a 18-200MM Nikkor DX lens, and that meets most of my needs. DX means it is not a “full frame” lens or camera, which tend to be far more expensive. The Nikon D600, a new body recently released, is a full frame body. It costs roughly $2,000 alone. A good lens for such a device, like a Nikkor 24-70MM can run up to $1800. One of my friends has the 24-70MM lens, and he loves it. He also has another lens, the 70-200MM. That device is well into the $2300-$2500 range. My DX body and lens cost $1800 combined, and it still takes great photos.

I picked a Nikon body because of the lens quality and consistency. While Canon makes great DSLR’s, they’ve shown less consistency in lenses in my opinion. Many people consider that statement inaccurate but like I said, it’s my opinion. If I were you and in the market for a DSLR, you should check it out yourself. There’s a lot more out there than Nikon or Canon. They are just the ones I’m most familiar with.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Douchery, Entertainment, Money, Travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

