St. Louis – San Francisco – Termination Game & Cheap Shots

This series ends tonight.

And the Giants are ahead, 8-0, in the middle of the eighth.

Hey, I used to live in the Bay Area, and I am partial to the SF Giants. I know, Pac Bell, er, AT$T Park is a lovely place to watch a ballgame, but I actually liked Candlestick Park. It was tough on you as a fan. Bring blankets and raingear. When the wind got swirling in that place, it was miserable. Unless the Giants broke out the whipping sticks. Lets face it, a guy like the cheater Barroid Bonds, one of the greatest players in baseball history, made millions of dollars for guys who were average at best. Jeff Kent. Rich Aurilia. JT Snow. They hated Bonds, but they made their living off the guy, playing a lot of games in a cold, dead ballpark. Don’t kid yourselves, non-Bay Area people. The weather there is superb, but chilly at night. Which is why I loved living out there.

Anyway, I liked watching the Giants, either there or at AT$T Park. They always seemed to have enough talent to compete but just not enough to win. They broke through against the Rangers to win their first WS since coming west.

Even more amusing, the Dodgers have taken it on the chin. You know, baseball is my first (sports) love, but Fox and its destruction of the Dodgers, a once-proud franchise, has taken it down a notch. As bad as ESPN is with the NBA and NFL, Fox has butchered baseball even worse. The stupid “winner of the All-Star game gets World Series home field” is purely a Fox invention. You don’t even have to tell me, I know it. Fox is the home of stupid competition sloganeering like “ESPN…the four letter network.” What dumb@$$ over at Fox thought that up? Plus Fox Sports Radio…the last refuge of the conservative news commentator that gets suck ratings…is just awful. They know nothing about sports; hell, if I wanted a douchebag who had a loud mouth spewing BS, I’d just talk to people at work.

ESPN, despite its suckitude, is BETTER than Fox Sports. Face it, Fox Sports. You suck. You are not good, the only thing you tell me is how bad everyone else is. You are just as bad if not worse.

Hey, now it is pouring. 1 on, 1 out in the top of the ninth. It looks like a swamp in the middle of the infield. They are still playing on.

John Jay strikes out looking. You can’t take anything close in this weather. Still, the home plate ump isn’t making it easy and neither is Lopez.

3-1 coming to Carlos Beltran, he walks him. Two on, two out. It’s still pouring, the crowd is roaring, and there’s a pitching change. I can’t believe they are still playing!

Popped up, middle infield, the game is over. The Giants win the pennant, and the fans are going nuts! I love this. I look forward to another hard fought, well contested World Series.

 

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Bandwagoning, Baseball, Homerism, Ratings Ho, Sports Media Douchery and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St. Louis – San Francisco – Termination Game & Cheap Shots

  1. I was surprised they played that far into the rainstorm. And I enjoy all that the World Series will have a lot of orange and black in it this season.

    I don’t think Fox Sports invented the All Star Game “counting” though. That call comes from the commissioner’s office. Sports leagues are very protective about how TV networks portray their brand, I can’t see them letting broadcasters make gameplay decisions.

Leave a Reply

