Buying a Vehicle

I just watched a commercial where the guy is sitting in a Toyota Tundra while coaches Joe Gibbs and Mike Ditka are sitting in the back seat. The coaches are encouraging the guy to buy a Tundra.

A few months ago, I was in the market for a full size truck. I drove a Ford F-150, a couple of Tundras and the Ram. I also viewed a number of other trucks, including the Chevy Silverado and Nissan Titan.

I had driven the Ram 1500 and liked it. The salesman, who I liked tried to run the pressure game on me. I said I wanted to buy a truck, but I didn’t need to immediately. The salesman said “that truck you drove might be gone, so you need to buy that one now!” I said “what, you’re going to run out of trucks?”

There were 8 trucks on their lot just like that one.

After we left that dealership, I drove a Tundra. The Tundra is a superb truck. It can pull quite a bit, and its just…excellent. My negotiation was straightforward. The guy told me how much I should pay, and I didn’t want to pay that much. So I walked. He kept calling me, and even 8 months later he still emails me.

I went to a Ford dealership, where I approached the salesman. Actually I arrived nearly at closing time. The first question out of the guy’s mouth was how much did I want to pay? After I told him, he said that dealership, Red McCombs Ford West, didn’t sell a truck for that price. Um, I thought salesmen tried to get you to drive one, then trapped you with the price? Anyway, I drove one at another dealership. I wouldn’t have bought one there anyway. Red McCombs is a pirate and they treat military personnel like garbage. I heard that from an Air Force 1st Sergeant. McCombs will charge young guys in the military super high interest rates while knowing they are boxed in with their military contracts.

Anyway, I had accumulated so much conflicting data, reports and driven so many trucks I wanted to scrap the whole thing. Then I went through my bank. They gave me a dealership and a salesman. He made me an offer. I was familiar with the vehicle. My bank confirmed it was a good deal, I picked a truck online and that was that. I drove it and purchased it the next day.

If you’re a car dealer, the old way only works with people who are allergic to the Internet or are just old. The haggling stuff sucks so bad, it could only work with someone who is begging the dealer to take their money. Just sell the damn car and get the money. It’s simple but dealerships are so into trying to rip people off, they’d rather do it the old way.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Crime, Douchery, Money and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

