The Jeremy Kyle Show

One of my mandatory DVR recordings is of the Jeremy Kyle Show.

Can you imagine my delight when, on our cruise, the Jeremy Kyle Show appeared on British TV? Kyle apparently shows up on both sides of the pond. He’s one of my favorite hosts, because he’s pretty blunt. Of course, let’s take a look at his British direct-ness:

 

The good things about the Kyle show are 1) they want to get the guests some help; 2) he lets the guests yell at each other; 3) unlike Wilkos, the show doesn’t have a predetermined end. Kyle is more about the eventual result versus the end. It’s great trash TV.

And lets talk about Wilkos for a brief bit: I suspect he tapes more shows than the ones he broadcasts, but unfortunately for his ratings, not everyone is a child molester. I know, I know: It’s a lot more common than you think, but it isn’t every single guest who comes on that show. I suspect the whole child molesters prevalence thing is to make Steve look like the good-guy protective cop.

I also have to say, I’m not a super-strong believer in the “lie-detector” stuff. Hey, I’ve been polygraphed before, and I can tell you in the hands of an experienced test administrator, it’s pretty accurate. Of course when you’re not lying…or you are convinced you are not lying…or even worse, you are convinced you COULD be lying and you are not…it doesn’t matter, does it? It is a measure of your autonomous nervous system, that’s all. You are supposedly lying when your autonomous nervous system reacts, because you can’t control it. Unless you have experience controlling it. Here’s something I believe: The polygraph administrator can tell when someone is lying better than the machine. I remember a Maury Povich where a mother said she had slept with the daughter’s boyfriend. The boyfriend denied it, but it was pretty clear he was a liar. He passed the polygraph, but it made no sense. I don’t know how he defeated it, but he did. The mother had no reason to lie. The polygraph administrator had to know better.

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Bloviator, Douchery, Entertainment, Ratings Ho, Trash TV and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

