The (blanking) Dunce Test

You all know I am a supporter of Second Amendment rights, right?

I am a supporter, but that doesn’t mean everyone should be allowed to have firearms.

Like convicted felons. Criminals. Mentally challenged.

And dunces.

Today, I went to visit my sister-in-law as part of encouraging her recovery from her daughter’s suicide. I saw her boyfriend there with a firearm, a Glock semiautomatic pistol in a holster. We were in a rural setting. I know the big concern is rattlesnakes out there, but a Glock is a weapon for peace officers. I’m not sure most people could really hit a rattler with a pistol with consistency, depending on the quality of the shooter and the distance.

While her boyfriend is out there with a pistol designed to knock down a criminal or six, they asked him to drain the water cooler. The water cooler is one of those Home Depot variety, 5-gallon, screw-on top. So this guy tries draining the damn thing by pushing the button. We’re watching him do this, and after he was standing there for a while, one of the ladies says, “(dude), maybe you should take the lid off.”

So dude is there and he’s trying to pull the lid off of the thing. My father-in-law mentions “maybe you ought to twist it off.” He does, and dumps the water out at our feet.

Here’s my opinion and I could be wrong, but I’m not: Maybe if you get to play with guns, you should be given a “F**king dunce” test. If you can’t answer 10 common-sense questions, like “what utensil would a normal human being use to eat jello”, you aren’t allowed to have a gun. If you’re too freaking dumb to empty a water cooler, you shouldn’t be allowed to have a gun. Just my opinion but you should have an ounce of brains before getting the opportunity to cause mass casualties. Even the NRA would agree with that.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Crime, Douchery, Haterade and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

