Church Picnic and Old Guys Barbecuing

Sausage

Sausage

Yesterday, I served during my church’s annual picnic. Because we had enough people to run the kitchen, I went out and worked the barbecue. Now the church barbecue is a place I normally stay away from because one BIG rule of barbecue is, the Old Guys manage the grill. I’m old but I’m not that old. The Old Guys know the grill, barbecue and grilling techniques better than just about anyone. Experience is the best teacher and the Old Guys started barbecuing before I even knew how to build a fire. I handled the fire to a certain degree, shoveling charcoal and mesquite logs into the various pits.

I’m pretty secure with my grilling and barbecuing techniques, so I admire what others do on the grill. Douchebags brag about their own grill skills and put others down because they are self-legends. They serve ketchup (also known as sauce) with everything they cook, because their meat has no flavor. Anyway, I picked up good stuff the Old Guys do and added them to my own skill set. One thing I saw that I really liked was their handling of smoke. Normally, I  smoke heavy at the beginning of the cooking cycle. The Old Guys put the chicken to light smoke early and heavier smoke afterwards. The chicken was nicely smoked despite the delayed aspect. I wondered if it would have a bitter taste to it because of heavy smoke late but it did not. I didn’t think it would work, but it did. The chicken was quite tasty, smoky and was genuine. Another thing is, they smoke heavier than I ever do. The sausage you see in the picture got a ton of smoke. Most of the time, my smoke flavor is light. Theirs is distinctive, not just because its heavy but it also imparts the mesquite on it. I’m not a big fan of mesquite, but its the only thing the Old Guys use. It’s good because mesquite is so heavy a wood, its almost impossible to get your pit cleaned to where you can cook using a wood like pecan or apple. On my property I have a thousand mesquite trees. At LEAST a thousand. I wish they would come and cut some of that weed down. Finally, the Old Guys had a separate pit set up to start more charcoal and get it burning so they wouldn’t have to dump unlit charcoal in the hopes of getting it going. Brilliant.

Speaking of the chicken, it was well-done. Well-done chicken means no one gets sick. The Old Guys have the patience to wait until the chicken was done.

chicken

 

People start bitching when stuff runs low, but the Old Guys weren’t paying attention. They cooked the chicken, sausage and burgers until done. Their rationale was there will be even more complants for underdone food, which there were none. They made numerous hot dogs, a food in apparent nationwide decline, and some country-style ribs for the cooking crew. Hot dogs may be in decline, but sausage sure isn’t. All those sausage you see in the pic of the Weber, disappeared shortly after being served.

It was a lot of fun. I got sunburned, mostly because it was 102 degrees when we completed the day. SPF70 helped but not when you’re that close to the grill.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

