Tailgating The Proper Way

Did I mention I attended the Jacksonville Jaguars – Oakland Raiders game earlier this year? Pretty solid tickets, weren’t they?

20130915_133015I didn’t blog about that game because I was too busy. Because of our tailgating experience at this game, I wanted to write about Tailgating The Proper Way.  I’m writing about it because my friend, who I attended the game with, forgot everything we had done in our previous seasons of tailgating. Here are some basics:

1) If you want to cook on a grill, bring all the parts of your grill: My friend brought the propane grill, which is perfect for tailgating. He also brought propane canisters. He didn’t bring the propane regulator, which you must have to connect the canister to the grill. If you can’t connect the canister to the grill, you can’t cook. Therefore, the propane regulator is a necessity.

2) Bring utensils: Unfortunately my friend wanted to get the stuff together for the game. He forgot to bring tongs, plastic knives, forks and spoons and paper plates. The only utensil we had was a can opener for the beans. We didn’t have a pot for the beans anyway, called strike three.

3) Prep your food at home: We had planned our pre-game meal the night before and shopped. The main items were:

– Thinly sliced steaks

– Italian sausage and hoagie rolls, with bell pepper and onions

– Baked beans

I knew exactly what I wanted to prep but I fell asleep when we got back to his house. When I woke up, it was way too late to get things underway. So we would be left with basically nothing.

This is how NFL fans are: Seeing we couldn’t cook on our grill, a Jaguars fan said we could use his regulator. I threw on the Italian sausage, and grilled them. Because we had no utensils, I used a plastic spoon he had in his car to turn them! Then we picked them up with our rolls, and ate. Of course we had plenty of Red Hook to wash them down with. In the end, it worked out.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Barbecue, Food, Football and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

