The Granary

Today, I had lunch with one of my colleagues who is departing out workplace. We went to a place downtown at the Pearl Brewery location, called The Granary. The Granary is one of those upscale places but it is different. It serves barbecue and beer. Apparently, The Granary is a pretty good place to eat. Steven Raichlen said it was in his Top 10 for the United States in 2013. I’ve actually eaten food from all three of the Texas restaurants on this list. Jason Dady of Two Bros, let me say this: The guy is a fabulous cook, he had a restaurant called “The Lodge at Castle Hills” which is now closed. The Lodge was the best restaurant in San Antonio in my opinion. His Tre Trattoria Italian restaurant in Alamo Heights is superb. Two Bros is ok, I guess. My wife has a warped palate and didn’t like it, but it was not my best BBQ experience here.

Oh, what do I think of The Granary? The Granary is superb.

You know what the best thing to eat at The Granary? The turkey. That’s right, the smoked turkey was awesome. Usually, wherever you go, the smoked turkey is NOT awesome. Not even Aaron Franklin’s turkey is awesome. Smoked turkey is usually pretty dry, but this one was juicy and tasty. The barbecue sauce is very good. I had coleslaw, which was decent and the potato salad. TRY THE POTATO SALAD, I absolutely loved it.

Surprisingly, the one thing I do not get down with is their brisket. It’s not bad, but it’s not Franklin Barbecue awesome, either.

The first time we went there, I had a brown ale. It was outstanding.

In other words, everything there was pretty good except the brisket which I felt was average. I still ate it.

If you’re ever in San Antonio and are looking for a trendy upscale place that serves excellent food, try The Granary.

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Barbecue, Food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

