Landon Donovan’s Criticism of Jurgen Klinsmann

First a word about hairstyle.  How does BSP know anything about hairstyle? Easy. I’ve dated and lived with black women, Hispanic women. My stepmother is a hair stylist in Atlanta. My wife was going to open up her own salon. End of story. I’ve seen just about everything in women’s hair in the last 30 years. I love me some women’s hair.

Now, about Landon Donovan and … gasp … soccer. Ugh. Excluded from the US Men’s National Team for this World Cup, he lashed out at U.S. coach Jurgen Klinsmann for what he viewed as “tactical errors.” This continues what was at least a poor relationship between the two men. Donovan skipped three qualifier matches to take a vacation (!). Who the F who wants to be on a national team does that? If you don’t get points in those games, you don’t even play in the World Cup! So Klinsmann left Donovan off the national team, drawing criticism due to his status as one of the US’s best players for a decade. Those critics dismissed Donovan’s garbage attitude. Except Klinsmann’s son, Jonathan, wrote a tweet in what can be judged at least poor taste after Donovan was left off the USMNT:

Screen Shot 2014-05-23 at 1.08.37 PM

Ouch. His father reprimanded him for the tweet.

Obviously as a father you put him in line, and he owes him a huge, huge apology. That was highly disrespectful, and I think he got his biggest social media lesson he could imagine. It was very disappointing.

They shut down the Twitter account shortly thereafter, showing some semblance of class.

Now we have Donovan spouting off about the errors of the USMNT coach. No surprise there, right? Some say that echoes of sour grapes.

Of course it does. Klinsmann did a great job of getting this team to the knockout phase. Virtually every team they played was superior to them. They beat Ghana, and should have beaten Portugal. Despite losing to Germany, they were technically in the game almost to the end. And the Belgium game? The U.S. had an excellent chance to come away with a win in that match; a missed shot derailed the best chance to win.

The reality is, Donovan or Klinsmann can’t really do anything about the status of the US as a non-power in soccer. My supervisor told me he played soccer in junior high school, before his parents came to their senses and allowed him to play football. He ended up playing football for a Division I school. That’s where our soccer talent is. It’s in other sports; sports that are actually popular in this country. Still, in a country of 320 million people, we should have at least 50 who like soccer and are physically and mentally able to play it at the highest level.  Personally, I think it’s a lot harder to get good at hockey than soccer; parents don’t have to drive you to the rink; the equipment is certainly less expensive and its easier to raise a team. But soccer tends to draw upon the least athletic, most worrisome parents. I don’t think American parents recognize the violence in soccer. While people like myself think of soccer as Euros flopping around, trying to sell calls, it’s actually quite physical. If you’re worried about concussions and don’t want your kids to play big time football because of them, you haven’t seen a ball headed into the net off a corner kick. Or colliding with other players … constantly.

I suspect some bag at ESPN wants you to like soccer. They push it pretty hard in their agenda to go “worldwide.” I think I speak for America. The World Cup is reasonable, but if you think I want to sit here in San Antonio and sweat my ass off in 90+ degree heat to watch a minor league soccer team play, you’re koo-koo. I’m not even, you know I’m not  a fan of Xbox-like scoring. That’s for the sporting dunce; points, points, points, players are like robots. Fans like myself want to understand how the game is played. If soccer games focused on the tactical intricacies of the game, I’d probably find it more interesting.

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Celebrity Wannabe, Douchetastic, Entertainment, Ratings Ho, Soccer, Sports Media Douchery and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

