Raiders to San Antonio?

By now, if you’ve been listening to the national media, you know Oakland Raiders owner Mark Davis visited San Antonio a couple of weeks ago. While he was here to honor Cliff Branch, Davis, a friend of Henry Cisneros’ also discussed the Raiders moving to this city and met with San Antonio’s then-mayor Julian Castro; the City Manager, Spurs owner Peter Holt and a number of other civic leaders.  Public discussion of the meetings provided  plenty of ammunition for the local and national media.

You know BSP is a Raiders fan. Furthermore, I live in San Antonio. One of the positives is, I could get my season tickets back. I could even go to a game with Mr. Mc. LOL, Mr. Mc hates the Raiders; he prefers the team that wears orange. You know, the one that took a joyous hammering in the Super Bowl. Hopefully, the team in orange will prove an even bigger disappointment this year than they were in the Super Bowl.

Anyway, it would be really difficult for the Raiders to move here, and not just because of the financials. The financials are intimidating enough. The Raiders would be evacuating the 6th largest TV market for the 36th largest. The stadium currently existing here, the Alamodome, isn’t new; it’s a 19 year-old building in need of its own facelift. While San Antonio is the 7th largest city in the nation, it’s metro area is one of the smallest. Texas, one of the most conservative states, in one of the most conservative cities, would not be in favor of any tax increase whatsoever. Most people here try not to remember the Spurs threat to move to New Orleans if the AT$T Center hadn’t been built. Plus the fan base here is almost exclusively Dallas Cowboys.  When told about Mark Davis’ visit, Jerry Jones stated:

“What I will say is San Antonio is very important to the Dallas Cowboys. We have the exact same percentage of fans in San Antonio that we do in Plano, Texas, about 98 percent.”

LOL.

Asked if he was surprised that the Raiders would target San Antonio, Jones said, “No. I don’t make a lot of this. At all.”

Jones thinks he owns San Antonio. In reality, he shouldn’t. The Cowboys own San Antonio due to the Aikman/Irvin/Smith years. That’s been over for nearly two decades. The real reason Jones doesn’t want another team here is the problem they’ve had winning in the post-season as of late. They haven’t. How brutal have the Cowboys in the postseason? The Raiders haven’t sniffed the postseason since 2003 and they have more postseason wins in this century than the Cowboys. If there was a team winning here, and one in Houston, Jones might have to find someone who knows football to come in and run that team.

Into something besides the ground like he has, ha ha.

Anyway, I rate the Raiders chances of moving here to be very small. Mostly for the reasons I’ve mentioned above. In addition, the Raiders are so West Coast; they would be virtually abandoning their fan base. I also know Mark Davis doesn’t want to leave California for this sweat box.  I’m sure we’ll hear a lot more about Davis investigating leaving Oakland before the Raiders settle on a home. Hopefully the Raiders and some city in the Bay Area will find a way to make it work.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Crime, Football, Haterade, Money, Sports Media Douchery and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Raiders to San Antonio?

  1. Mr. Mc. says:

    BSP,
    I was raised to wear “Silver and Black” during my childhood years on 26th Ave and E 21st St. During that span from ’77 – ’87, I had the pleasure of meeting Lester Hayes, watching Ray Guy soar punts and hearing the cheers when Ken Stabler scrambled from the pocket (albeit rare) in an attempt to gain yards on foot. If I’m not mistaken, he is probably the only QB to have negative yards in that capacity. At any rate, my family and I bled Silver and Black until Al Davis decided to turn the Raiders into the TRaiders. That’s when a lot of loyal fans removed themselves from being Raider fans. You can never forget your first love, but can always remember the bitter break up as a result. Fortunately for me, it was only football…and I was young enough to recover. I, as a young lad, used to hear my Pops talk about John Elway. I took an interest in number 7 and the organization, and never looked back. So yes, I am an Orange Lover, but will always have Silver and Black in my heart. Mostly because as a football fan that’s what I was first introduced to. I read that the Raiders and Rams are de facto franchise free agents after the 2014 season. What fan wants to go through the ordeal of seeing their team pick up and leave for LA again? BSP, it makes sense for the Silver and Black to move to San Antonio … it would match the NBA/WNBA teams there. That would be a sight to behold. BSP, it would be my pleasure to see a game with a friend. Let’s make it happen.

Leave a Reply

