Voting. And (sigh), politics

Have you heard, there’s an election coming. Yes, another election. Groan.

I did vote, but I can’t think of a more worthless way to spend an hour. Sorry politico partisan folks, it’s true:

Voting doesn’t matter.

When I say it doesn’t matter, I know what I’m talking about. For instance, here in Texas, there’s going to be a statewide sweep by Republicans. Greg Abbott is going to be our next governor. I know this without even a single ballot having been counted. Here’s a little newsflash for you: In 2016, the Democratic candidate is going to win California. The Republican candidate is going to win Texas. You can write that down. Actually you don’t have to write it down. The only places genuinely holding elections are the 10 or so contested swing states. The rest are a joke, time wasters to make you think you participate in the democratic process.

Like there’s an ounce of difference between the parties. It’s essentially one-party rule in America, status quo. It’s just different people alternating to make the big money. Frankly, I find nothing wrong with that, other than the fact they force me to pay attention to them.

Anyone think there’s something weird about the last 10 Presidential candidates from the major parties, only two of them did not attend either Harvard or Yale (Robert Dole and John McCain)? I’m curious as to why that is, since there are other elite schools in America.

I get to listen to a lot of douchbags talk about this issue, or that problem being a big deal. But I’ve got overwhelming evidence to the contrary. Basically, if it doesn’t effect me, an issue doesn’t matter. I’ve still got to get up in the morning, put on my shoes (hopefully after my pants) and go to work. Regardless of the winning party.

Did I mention the most intensely partisan people are really stupid? I mean, if your outlook on society is decided by people you’ve never met, who think you as the average citizen are pretty stupid and can be influenced by TV ads and soundbites … you’re really stupid. And stupid is not a term bitter sports uses lightly.

We’ve discussed our hatred of politics here before. I figure, why not one more time for reinforcement’s sake? I’ll be glad (once again) when it’s over, except certain people start talking it right back up.

Politics suck. A job where the only thing you have to do is talk. Perfect for no-talent losers who have a giant ego but little else.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Bandwagoning, Bloviator, Celebrity Wannabe, Douchetastic, Fraudulent, Loser, Money, Ratings Ho and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

