It Always Turns

For the first time in years, I’m considering inviting another person to this blog. Mainly so I can deliver comedic relief at their expense.  I played, and then began watching sports a long time ago. It’s been fun, but I have to say there are three things you have to remember as a fan … a quality fan, not the bandwagoner wearing his brand new Seahawks jersey or the guy in his brand new Broncos #18 jersey thinking he has room to talk about brand new Seahawks fan. Anyway, here are the three things:

1) Stick with your team, in good times and bad

2) Don’t celebrate before its over

3) What goes around, comes around – it always turns

So yesterday, I’m working and one of my co-workers, a Bronkeys fan comes over, and another person … a guy who I don’t even know likes sports, much less football … stands there clapping while the Bronkeys fan gives me a certificate saying “Oakland Raiders” thanks for participating in the NFL.” Oh, how funny. What a pair of douches, what  scroatbags. I just stood there like “the only person who thinks you two are bigger f**king idiots than I do are yourselves.”

First off, the guy who found the thing, I didn’t even know he liked football. You know, the kind of guy who played flute in the band because his parents didn’t want him to play sports.

Now mind you, I didn’t give the Bronkeys fan a hard time even after the Donks suffered a humiliating loss in the Super Bowl. Well, one of their humiliations. The other guy, well, he’s just a laughingstock. It doesn’t matter because the one certainty in sports is, that thing is going to turn unfavorable for you. Take it from me, I know. If you think for one second, when I saw Marcus Allen breaking away from the Redskins on that 74-yard run in Super Bowl XVIII, that it would be 20 years before the Raiders would even make it back to the Super Bowl, and then play some of the worst football in league history over the next decade afterwards, you’re wrong.

I know it always turns.

Raiders are a threat to go 0-16. But it always turns. Lions did go 0-16, but now they are playing decent football, on top of their division. Hate to say it for Bronkeys fan, it always, always turns. One day you find your team with Kyle Orton as your starter, and they are absolutely horrible. For me, one week, Raiders pummeled the Bronkeys 59-14. later that year, some laughable quarterback named Tim Tebow beat the Raiders in a critical game. That was only four years ago. It always turns.

It could be as simple as Peyton Manning going down awkwardly after completing a pass. You saw our post with Victor Cruz. One minute he’s playing hard, the next, his season’s over.  Your ambition, the Super Bowl, your season is done. And then I’ll be there with a participation certificate. Never take your team’s success for granted.

Gloating in Week 8 is sure as hell not the time to act as if you’ve won a title.

It’s the NFL for heaven’s sake. It’s an acronym for “not for long.”  You don’t know what’s going to happen, or when it’s going to happen.

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Bandwagoning, Douchetastic, Football, Fraudulent, Haterade, Homerism and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

