Idiots listening to Idiots

I was listening to Chuck Barkley speak on the Mike and Mike show this morning, and Barkley made a comment, referring to some NBA players as “idiots.” Then I heard Colin Cowherd say that you are what you watch. By the way, it was weird that he was giving his mother advice instead of the other way around. You ever try to tell your mother what to do; give her life lessons? Mr. Cowherd is apparently quite arrogant.

By the way, I have a master’s degree but I watch trash TV. Anyway, I thought about it for a second and realized why are these guys like Chuck Barkley dumping on players for being idiots, when the players might actually listen to sports talk radio?

Have you ever listened to sports talk radio? These are supposed to be voices of reason, but they’re not. They are there to generate ratings. Ratings don’t come from reasonable. We watched The Celebrity Apprentice last night. Kenya Moore, bless her beautiful heart, deserved to get fired. She didn’t because her presence guarantees ratings. Kate got the boot because she tried to be professional. The goal of the show isn’t to be professional, it’s to get eyeballs on NBC. Trump understands that, so he fired Kate. The same is true with sports talk radio. Ratings come from stupidity.

I had to laugh at JT The Brick’s show last night. He was talking about how important the ball inflation subject was. You know,  “national TV news was leading off with the story.”  I watched national TV news last night. It was a subject but it certainly wasn’t leading off. I think this snowstorm rates as a pretty big deal, since Boston is under 20 inches of snow. The current president is in Saudi Arabia, talking to the new king, who presides over 20% of the world’s oil. Sorry JT, that possibly rates even higher than a football being 1 lb under the minimum pressure. I would have listened to JT’s show, but I don’t think listening to a bunch of grown men yelling at the top of their lungs like they are doing something important. They are not.

Let us not forget who’s keeping the ball inflation thing alive: Jets Media. You know, the Mike and Mikes, ESPN as an entity, and the rest who love the Jets. If the Jets can’t actually beat New England (and they can’t — and won’t as long as Bill Belichick is running the show up there), why not trash the franchise?  Especially since King Rex is gone. Rex is gone and we don’t have him spouting crap. JetsFan loved Rex spouting crap, right?

Rex Ryan might be the most polarizing figure in New York right now. When he talks, everyone listens. The Jets fans love him because of where he has brought this team in just three short years. The opposition hates him because they feel disrespected. The media loves him because it gives them something to talk about. There is even one person in the media that has used Ryan’s comments to get through five and a half hours of drive time radio on WFAN

Too bad Rex never won anything except the “We Beat New England in the Playoffs once” bowl. Maybe he’d still be there. Now that Rex is gone, we have ball inflation. Let’s say it again: The ball inflation thing is minimal. Frankly, we’d like to see the league get concerned about knife blocking and a lot of dirty play going on. Some fans I know, fans above the sports talk radio level were livid over that hit Clay Matthews put on Russell Wilson. Not only that, they were even more angry Wilson avoided getting treatment, even though there’s allegedly a concussion protocol. You ever notice sports talk media never pays attention to the things that get players injured? Unless the injured player plays for the Cowboys?

The whole point of this blog post is pointing out the absurdity of sports talk radio. It’s perfectly synchronized with the athletes playing it. If we’re going to say how ignorant the players are, we have to also mention the high stupidity level of broadcasters and sports talk radio. You have to acknowledge sports talk radio is juvenile if you’re going to say players are idiots. If you acknowledge sports talk radio is juvenile, you have to wonder about the people listening to it.

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Bandwagoning, Bloviator, Douchetastic, Money, NFL, Ratings Ho, sports, Sports Media Douchery, Trash TV and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Idiots listening to Idiots

  1. Matt Walker says:

    I’m picky about which sports talk radio I listen to. I don’t consider myself an idiot either. I just love sports. I listen mainly to get local inside information about my Houston teams. Mark Vandemere “The Voice of the Texans”, has his show, I believe in the late morning hour, and that’s one solid dude right there! No juvenile crap, and all quality information.

    The after lunch hour sports talk radio shows do seem to digress in quality though; to the brink of idiocy in some cases. I remember listening to a couple of local guys going back and forth like a couple of elementary kids on the playground, arguing about who was right about some juvenile and insignificant topic. I’m not sure how that crap ends up on the air.

    Charles Barkley, in my opinion, is pure entertainment gold. That guy just opens his mouth and and he is either going to step on himself (which I think is funny), or he’s going to hit a home run with some outrageous, unpredicted statement that goes against the grain of a demographics’ long held stereotype. He seems to have created a tv character and once he’s done that, he then has to try to keep that character relevant, and risky (for shock effect/ratings) in order to stay on the set. He does a great job at that. Or maybe he is just being himself. (shrugs)

    The nationally syndicated sports talk radio shows, yeah I really can’t stomach.

    The Dan Patrick Show, on Directv’s Audience channel, is my preference for national sports entertainment. It’s not talk radio, but those guys (Dan & the Danettes) keep me laughing every morning. Dan also books quality guests for quality informative interviews.

    The issue I have about your blog is that I was left with the impression that, in your opinion, if a person listens to sports talk radio then they must be an idiot. That’s a broad statement. I guess if the show you choose to listen to is airing idiots and you keep listening to the idiots with the knowledge that they are idiots, then yeah.. maybe. But sports enthusiasts enjoy sports. Seems logical to me.

    • If I think people who listen to sports talk radio are idiots, I suppose I’d have to lump myself into that category. I simply tire of hearing how so-and-so player is an idiot, while hearing little in the way of analysis. You know, the guy yelling at the top of his lungs while telling you nothing, or even worse, the guy who has no guests, as if his stories about running a kick back 30 yards in high school are rough equivalents of NFL players running kicks back for touchdowns.
      But I also suspect I am a minority among sports talk listeners. I actually tune in sports talk radio to listen to … gasp … sports. Not what movie the host saw this weekend, not which chick is hot, not a bunch of creepy jokes the host wouldn’t tell in front of their spouse. I especially can’t stand the host who constantly talks to you about their family life, as if that matters a damn to me. I only listen to sports talk on the drive to/from somewhere. But I want to hear about sports, and not the other nonsense. If that’s too much for them, maybe they should do something else.

Leave a Reply

