Former Vanderbilt players convicted of Rape

Who would want to have sexual relations with a woman totally passed out?

This is unbelievable. While we are amazed these young men threw their lives away, we shouldn’t be. According to a study, nearly one man in three in college would engage in sexual intercourse by force if they could get away with it.

I’m watching this guy Cory Batey on Dr. Phil. He looks fine, looks normal. He’s not, though. He said he was “drunk out of (his) mind.” Normally I wouldn’t accept that, but I can believe it.

About 20 years ago, after work, I went to a club with some friends of mine. I met a couple of other guys who I thought were my friends, and they offered me a drink. Goldschlager. I downed it like nothing.

The next thing I remember, I was in my car, in my garage with a terrific headache. My then-girlfriend told me I had passed out  and thrown up in the club’s bathroom. The club manager had one of my co-workers call my girlfriend to come get me. They carried me out to my car, and she drove me home. She said she couldn’t lift me to get me out of the car, so she put me in the garage and let me sleep.

I had been sleeping/semi-sleeping in the car for nearly a full day.

Then she chewed me out. I couldn’t understand it, and I thought I had just had a bad day. I hadn’t thought too much about it, because it hadn’t happened before and the only time I ever became nearly that trashed was during an experience in Las Vegas where I had a reaction to some prescription medication I was taking. To this day, I think my “friends” used the date-rape drug on me. Their intentions? You never know what people truly think about you. I do know this, one of them had lost an award to me. An annual award that was a big deal. If I had a few people who were less caring than that club manager, I could have gotten in real trouble.

I was smashed. I was way out of character. But you know what? I didn’t rape anyone. I was “drunk out of my mind.” But I couldn’t do anything. I couldn’t even walk to my car. Drunk out of your mind means you can’t do anything. This football player walked to the dorm, raped the woman, did all kinds of degrading things to her. You can’t be on autopilot and do that. He wasn’t drunk out of his mind.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in College Football, Crime, Douchetastic and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

