Franklin Barbecue: A Meat Smoking Manifesto

I bought a book today with the title of this post. Do you know how often I buy books nowadays? Hardly ever. I just drop them to my Kindle when I purchase them. Most of the time, I look for your posts on the book of choice. Anyway, Aaron Franklin is one of the top celebrities in my house. Of course, we hold people like Myron Mixon in high esteem around here. His cookbook is on my Kindle. Myron Mixon is a genius, because he wants to enable you to cook outdoors in short time periods so you can have delicious outdoor cooked food in less than an hour. I am also held in high esteem here because I can cook just about anything outside, including some chicken I’m about to make.

One reason we hold Aaron Franklin in such high esteem is because he actually delivered. We went to Austin to try his barbecue and it was every bit as good as we had been led to believe. Even the turkey was good, and that’s hard to do. The key here is, Aaron Franklin is also a very nice person. Don’t know how Mr. Mixon is in person but Mr. Franklin is a cool dude and super enthusiastic about his trade. So I wanted to not only find out about great barbecue, but support Mr. Franklin though purchasing that book.

That’s a lesson for you entrepreneurs out there. Be decent to your customers. It pays off. Literally.

Oh, the book? I’m still reading it. One portion mentions Central Texas barbecue. Aaron says in the old days, there really wasn’t any good barbecue in Austin, it was in small towns around the city. This is true, except they are still there. I’ve eaten at Smitty’s Market. Try the sausage. In fact, try the sausage at any of the barbecue palaces in Central Texas. 

I have to admit, one reason I don’t tell my wife about this blog is the fact I’ll stop by a local favorite, Rudy’s and have a link on my way home from work. So don’t you tell her.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Barbecue, Food, Money and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

