So, What About Aldon Smith?

This website has crushed Greg Hardy, more for his enablers than anything else.

So, what about Aldon Smith?

We at BSP HQ do not engage in excuse-making for our own favorite team’s players. We don’t suck up to said players in the mistaken belief that the only thing that matters is on-the-field performance. Smith has multiple events leading to his suspension.

Aldon Smith is paying for his transgressions with a one-year suspension. Unlike Greg Hardy, Smith has something to say:

“First, I want to thank the Raiders, my teammates, the fans, our coaches and our owner for supporting me throughout all of this,” Smith said in the Raiders’ news release. “I am taking this time to work on myself and become the man I need to be, my team and organization needs me to be and I know I can be.”

Bill Williamson from ESPN doesn’t believe Smith will be back with the Raiders:

Truthfully, the Raiders hope they don’t need to sign Smith when his suspension is over. They will have to fill his spot in the offseason via the draft or free agency. The Raiders are poised to have the most salary-cap room in the NFL next year, and they will clearly earmark some of that room for a pass-rusher.

While the Raiders are going to the draft to add some depth, they certainly will bring back Smith in some capacity. Smith’s numbers were down, but he didn’t have a full training camp, either. Reggie McKenzie has maneuvered the Raiders into a great position salary-cap wise, but it might be more Mark Davis making that call.

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Crime, Football, NFL, Sports Media Douchery and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

