Preparing for Yosemite

I’ve told you about our camping trips. Last weekend, we set a personal record of sorts. While our trips have mostly been short ones, we went to Northeast Texas, near Tyler. That was a trip of over 400 miles one way. Get this: San Antonio is deep in the heart of Texas. It’s 250 miles to Dallas, 200 miles to Houston and 550 miles to El Paso. While our trips would be to multiple states on the East Coast, we’ve never left Texas. In fact my last truck, which I had for 3 years never left the state.

This trip was a test. We are going to Yosemite later this year. We are going to have to drive 500 miles a day for three days. As nice as my truck is, I now know why I have flown whenever I’ve left this state for the past 10 years. 400-500 miles hauling a travel trailer is no joke. Doing it for three days in a row can’t be much fun.

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Camping, Camping, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Preparing for Yosemite

  1. Gosh i know what a long trip that must feel like! my goal is to make enough money to get a new car so i can travel more – someone told me a CRV honda is a good choice for long distances. I actually read this diary excerpt because i stumbled on “tyler, Tx” im from Henderson, right outside! Does your blog post tips on travel, or things like that? I like following blogs where people travel.

  2. In between my salty sports comments, we post on travel. I have a travel trailer so we go camping, and we also cruise a bit. I used to travel a fair amount for work, so yes, this turned out to be a travel blog of sorts.

Leave a Reply

