Did We Mention Black Friday?

Now that our bitter post on the NFL is done, onto some fun stuff! As longtime BSP followers know, I’m a big fan of BLACK FRIDAY. Not so much a fan of BLACK THURSDAY, a portion of which is spent away from your family in order to get stuff.

If you’re a careful shopper as I am, you KNOW Black Friday is the best time of the year to get discounts on stuff you might actually need. For example, we knew our household appliances were getting long in the tooth. I upgraded all of our appliances, while keeping some of the old ones. I bought an LG french door refrigerator from Home Depot back in 2012. The refrigerator was $3500 regular price, but with discounts and the sale, I ended  up getting it for just under $2200. The old refrigerator? We put it in the garage, where it conked out two years later. It served its purpose as a beer fridge well before it’s demise. I’m still trying to figure out if its an easy fix like recharging the R134a before tossing it for good.

If you’re in decent financial shape, buy your appliances in advance, or otherwise, you’re stuck during a breakdown. Can’t tell you how often during that experience we saw young couples stressed over having to get their new refrigerator the same day, because their food was going bad. Around Black Friday (or Memorial Day) is the best time to get your appliances.

If you want to buy electronics, Black Friday is also your best bet … IF you are willing to get a lesser item. I almost ended up buying a television yesterday. This item is superb, but I looked through my salespapers and saw the same set at Costco for about $1300 less than the place I was scouting out sales. Another thing: I saw a MacBook Air in a sales paper for about $600 on Black Friday. It’s not as good as the one I purchased for my wife last year, but it has its most pronounced feature as my favorite: weight. I don’t carry my MacBook Pro when I travel, because the thing is just too heavy. I want the features of a Mac Book  while not having to lug it through airports, so I’m going to sit in line to get one.

Wherever that is. I know Best Buy has a deal on the 13.3″ but it’s not as good as the one I got last year on the same product.

A couple more things: If you need power tools, and want them to last a while, I’d go for the Home Depot’s GEN5X 18-Volt Lithium-Ion Cordless Combo Kit (5-Piece). I bought this on a Black Friday pre-sale for $399 a couple of years ago. That’s $100 off. I know, you can go to Harbor Freight and get like five of these for the same price. This kit has a lifetime service agreement, where if anything goes bad … even a battery … they will replace it at no cost for the item.  Have to admit the warranty registration is a pain in the caboose. If you bought these things from Harbor Freight, you will be going there next Black Friday to get the replacement one at the same price. I don’t know about you but I want my power tools to last. I want them to be reliable.

One of my colleagues purchased this set. He used the impact driver to remove a tire when he got a flat. Stuck on the side of the road at one moment; headed towards home 30 minutes later.

I wish Camping World had something legitimate for Black Friday, but they can’t continue robbing you every other day if they gave steep discounts for stuff you can’t get on Amazon or in Wal-Mart. Well, I guess their Honda generator sale counts as discounted, but those aren’t “can’t find them anywhere else, ever” discounts.

One last thing about Black Friday: Don’t buy stuff just to buy stuff. I’m doing minimal Black Friday shopping this year, because I’m starting to look like a hoarder. We have a lot of stuff in the house.

 

 

 

About bittersportspills

I love sports. I don't love the hype, homerism, ratings talk, self-important egomaniacs, bias or any of the other nonsense you get with the national media. Nor will you get the two clowns on sports talk radio who stage phony arguments. It doesn't make it entertaining. It makes it time to turn on your iPod and jam instead of listening to white noise generators. This is the sports blog for you, the ones who don't like everything Los Angeles or New York. Just because the sporting media is based there doesn't mean we have to like their teams. We do treat them fairly, though. That means if one of those cities has an average QB who plays particularly well...we'll note it. If they're garbage, we'll say so. Instead of crying "why, why, why" like a certain sports media homer did in his radio broadcast. This isn't my job...I have a real one. Nevertheless, I'll post here when I make an observation. Common sense in sports is nearly dead. Now we're attempting to bring it back.
This entry was posted in Consumerism, Money and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

